Winners of the Dean’s Award for the Community Leader 2023

Community services play a crucial role in enhancing the well-being and development of society. These services are designed to meet the needs of individuals, families, and communities, addressing a wide range of social, economic, health, and educational issues. Community services contribute to the development of strong and connected communities.

The Community Leader selection was jointly organized by the Faculty of Humanities and social Sciences (FHSS) and the Career Guidance Unit (CGU). Thank you, Mrs. Chathurangani Thennakoon, Carrer Advisor, CGU for conducting selection interviews. Winners of the Community Leaders 2023, of FHSS were awarded at the Faculty Publication Day held on 26th September 2023 at the Sumangala Auditorium.

Mr. Kavindu Gavesh, Department of Pali and Buddhist Studies was awarded as the Community Leader of the Year 2023. Mr. Gayan Jayawardhana, Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice and Ms. Oshadi Dilthara, Department of Economics secured the second and third places.

Rev. Habarawa Wimalarathne Thero, Ms. Dilruk Dodanwattha, Mr. Chamika Balasooriya, Ms. Nipuni Sasanka, Mr. Rusiru Galagoda, Ms. Sewmini Sanjana and Mr. Suchira Priyankara also served as community leaders, undertaking various community projects in 2023.

We are confident that their leadership will play a significant role in fostering the growth and success of our community. The Dean and the faculty extend their congratulations to all, and wish them the best of luck for the future community service endeavors.