National Honors Award – 2017

National Honors Award – 2017 ceremony was held 20th march at Nelumpokuna theater under the patronage of President Maithripala Sirisena, conferring national honors on distinguished personalities of the nation. Eminent academics of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura was awarded with honorary titles at the ceremony for their contribution to the nation.

Dr. Praneeth Abeysundara Senior Lecturer at the Department of the Sociology and Anthropology at the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences  was awarded Kalashuri title and Ms. Madubhashini Rathnayake, Senior Lecturer at English Language and Teaching unit was awarded with the title of Kala Keerthi at the Ceremony. As well as Mr. W. K. H. Wegapitiya, President of the Alumni Association of the University was awarded the title of Deshabandu and Emeritus Professor, E. R. Jansz at the Department of Chemistry was awarded with the title of Vidya Jothi at the National Honors Award – 2017 Ceremony.